Business Idea: Start a Book Exchange

Business Idea:

Start a Book Exchange – Earning money buying and selling books

Set up a website, or even use craigslist to buy used textbooks and list them for sale on Amazon/Ebay. 

This is an idea that I actually executed (the picture below is actually a low qualify version of my very own) while I was an undergraduate in college. Standing in the bookstore line and getting (and seeing other people getting) rejected in “book buybacks” got me thinking: why not sell these online, and sell theres too! 

This is exactly what I set out to do, after setting up an Amazon account and selling my books online (for roughly 20% more than what the bookstore even offered) I started searching on craigslist and found scores of individuals who were trying to sell there books on there. The best part? Many (maybe as much as 30%) were selling for well BELOW Amazon’s price.  Reaching out to these students who often desperately wanted to get rid of their books I started turning a profit almost immediately.

The typical example would be something like this:
Amazon price – $98.99
Craigslist price – $70
My offer – $65
Sold on Amazon – $97.99
Amazon commission ~ $10.00
Shipping credit from Amazon ~ $3.99
Profit – $25.99

Now each transaction took roughly an  hour. This included looking up, listing, and shipping. After a short time I started getting repeat customers who were willing to email me the books they were interested in selling. I even got to a point where I set up a website for people to make their submissions. This is already a proven profitable venture great for something on the side. You can easily make an extra $1,000 a month, and even more if you start this full-time or get creative with it.

I made $4299.65 in revenue in less than my first 2 months. I would estimate that roughly $1500 was profit. 

Comments? Questions? Let me know!  

Blog’s twitter: Ideafart

Author’s twitter: DanielSethMcKay

Find us on Facebook!

Email me!

 

3 comments

  1. Great piece of writing! We’d desire to learn more regarding this in a very future, more descriptive article.

    1. Thank you, look for more in the future.

      Also, we have moved our blog to a self-hosted domain – please follow us http://ideafart.com

  2. This title gives credit to the business of network marketing,
    but it marketing analytics books is a burden to expect from the readers to
    further run the attachment through a virus protection program.
    His experience has made Street-Smart one of the best network marketing books offer insight into a world that many
    have struggled through to make it work for you. Joe RubinoWho better to teach the art of network marketing books on the subject can help keep
    you motivated, give you new insights into the business,
    but about the people who work the business.

Please leave a comment

